The 10th Annual Awards Gala

JUNE 6th, 2007
The Fairmont Royal York
Concert Hall

100 Front Street West, Toronto

Award Recipients 2007

The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes a substantial contribution by a Canadian journalist to the profession:
Norman Webster

The Excellence in Journalism Award honours an organization which embodies exemplary journalistic standards and practices:
The Hamilton Spectator
(large/national media) and
The Guelph Mercury
(small/local media)

The Greg Clark Award is designed to offer working journalists, early in their career, a chance to gain insight and meet key decision makers in their beats:
Megan Wennberg

The Atkinson Fellowship in Public Policy, supported by the Atkinson Foundation, the Toronto Star and the Beland Honderich family, provides a grant for the Canadian journalist to undertake a year-long research project on a topical policy issue that furthers the principles of Joseph E. Atkinson:
Judy Steed

The Martin Wise Goodman Canadian Nieman Fellowship allows the recipient to enjoy a one-year sabbatical at Harvard University:
James Baxter

The Canadian Journalism Fellowships, presented annually by Massey College in the University of Toronto, reward mid-career journalists with a year long study at Massey College in the discipline of their choice:

  • CBC/Radio-Canada Fellow Jeffery Brown, Senior Assignment Producer with CBC Radio National News
  • St. Clair Balfour Fellow Liane Faulder, feature writer for the Edmonton Journal
  • Webster/McConnell Fellow Sheree-Lee Olson, Style Editor at the Globe and Mail
  • Gordon N. Fisher Commonwealth Fellow Andrew Teyie, senior political writer at The Standard in Kenya

Video clip for the 2007 Lifetime Achievement Award recipient
Norman Webster

Video clip for the 2007 Excellence in Journalism Award recipient
The Hamilton Spectator

Video clip for the 2007 Excellence in Journalism Award recipient
the Guelph Mercury

Special Thanks to our Gala Sponsors

Sun Life Financial