The Canadian Journalism Foundation supports and rewards excellence in Canadian journalism through its annual awards program and by supporting recognition programs run by other organizations. The recipients are presented their awards at the annual CJF Awards, held in June.

2016 CJF Awards
The 2016 CJF Awards will take place June 16 at The Fairmont Royal York in Toronto.

Past Gala Highlights
2015 >
2014 > 2013 > 2012 > 2011 > 2010 > 2009 > 2008 > 2007 > 2006 > 2005 > 2004

Sponsorship Opportunities
For opportunities to get involved, see the 2016 CJF Awards sponsorship package.

Media Guests
See a sampling of media guests who attend the CJF Awards.

Photos and Videos
View photos and videos from past galas.

Tickets can be purchased individually or as a table.

Awards Presented

CJF Innovation Award
At a time when news organizations are facing unprecedented challenges and demands for change, this award recognizes innovations that have a demonstrated impact in advancing the quality of journalism.
Deadline: February 19, 2016

CJF Jackman Award for Excellence in Journalism
This award honours an organization which embodies exemplary journalism with a resulting impact on the community it serves, in both a large media and small media category.
Deadline: February 19, 2016

Lifetime Achievement Award
This award recognizes a substantial contribution by a Canadian journalist to the profession.
Deadline: February 19, 2016

CJF Tribute
The annual CJF Tribute recognizes a media luminary or organization that has made an impact on the international stage. The 2015 Tribute honoured Malcolm Gladwell, in recognition of his pioneering work as a journalist and an author.

CJF Aboriginal Journalism Fellowships
These fellowships offer two early-career Aboriginal journalists the chance to explore issues of interest to First Nations, Métis or Inuit peoples. The fellows are hosted for one month by CBC News at its Aboriginal Centre in Winnipeg. This award is supported by CBC News, RBC Foundation, CN, Rosemary Speirs, CJF honorary governor, and Isabel Bassett, former chair and CEO of TVO.
Deadline: February 19, 2016

The Landsberg Award
Named after Michele Landsberg--award-winning journalist, author, social activist and feminist--this award celebrates a journalist who is raising awareness about women’s equality issues in Canada and aims to inspire an increase in the media coverage and voice of women in Canada. The recipient receives a $5,000 prize. This award is presented in association with the Canadian Women's Foundation.
Deadline: February 19, 2016

Greg Clark Award
This award is designed to offer working journalists, early in his or her career, a professional development opportunity which will allow the individual to gain insight, strategic information and meet key decision-makers in a sector or issue they regularly cover. This award is sponsored by Shaw Communications and the Toronto Star.
Deadline: February 19, 2016

Tom Hanson Photojournalism Award
This award offers a six-week paid internship at The Canadian Press head office in Toronto to a photojournalist in the early stages of his or her career. The annual internship is designed to give a photographer trying to break into the business a chance to perform on the national stage. This award is sponsored by Nikon.
Deadline: January 8, 2016

Atkinson Fellowship in Public Policy
This fellowship provides a seasoned Canadian journalist with $100,000 and an opportunity to pursue a year-long investigation into a current policy issue. This award is a collaborative project of the Atkinson Foundation, the Honderich Family and the Toronto Star.
Deadline: February 10, 2016

William Southam Journalism Fellowships
Awarded annually by the University of Toronto and Massey College, these fellowships reward mid-career journalists with an academic year to audit any course in the discipline of their choice and to participate fully in life at Massey College and the University. In association with Canadian Journalists for Free Expression, Journalists for Human Rights and the Canadian Journalism Foundation, Massey College and the University of Toronto are grateful for the generosity of the Alva Foundation, the estate of the late St. Clair Balfour, Lisa Balfour Bowen and Walter Bowen, Clair Balfour and Marci McDonald, Wilson J.H. Southam, the R. Howard Webster Foundation, the J.W. McConnell Family Foundation, CBC/Radio-Canada, Scotiabank, the McLaughlin Centre and for the generosity of past Journalism Fellows.
Deadline: March 1, 2016

Martin Wise Goodman Canadian Nieman Fellowship
Awarded biennially, this fellowship allows the recipient to enjoy a one-year sabbatical at Harvard University. Funding is provided by The Martin Wise Goodman Nieman Trust to the Nieman Foundation for Journalism. The next fellow will be named in 2017.