Laura-Julie Perrault of La Presse is the recipient of the 2013 Martin Wise Goodman Canadian Nieman Fellowship. Read more about the recipient.

Now accepting applications

One Nieman Fellowship for a Canadian journalist to study at Harvard University will be awarded to a successful applicant as a result of funding by the Martin Wise Goodman Trust to the Nieman Foundation for Journalism.

Nieman Fellowships at Harvard University provide a mid-career opportunity for journalists to study and broaden their intellectual horizons.  Fellows are free to enroll in graduate and undergraduate courses at the university and to participate in a wide-ranging extracurricular program to discuss contemporary issues with distinguished figures from journalism, business, education, and other professions as well as from the arts, public service and academia.

The fellowship will be granted for the academic year (September to June) and covers the cost of attending Harvard University and a stipend for living expenses.

There are no educational prerequisites for a Nieman Fellowship; nor do fellows receive either course credits or a degree for work done during the Nieman year.

Application is made by the individual journalist.  To qualify for consideration as the Martin Wise Goodman Canadian Nieman Fellow, applicants:

    - Must be Canadian citizens;
    - All applicants, including freelancers must be working journalists. Photojournalists, editorial cartoonists, columnists, filmmakers and broadcast producers are also eligible to apply;
    - Must have had at least five years of  full-time or freelance professional experience in journalism;
    - When appropriate, must obtain their employer’s consent for a leave of absence for the academic year;
    - Must have a fluent knowledge of spoken and written English as required by Harvard University.

The deadline for completed applications for the 2015-2016 academic year is February 3, 2015.  The selection will be announced in May.

Further information and application forms may be obtained from:  
Lauren Goodman

More information may be found at and

David Skok, director of digital at Global News, was the recipient of the 2011-2012 fellowship. Read the Nieman Reports Fall 2012 cover story about Breaking News-- David Skok's report in collaboration with Clayton M. Christensen, professor at  Harvard Business School and James Allworth, a fellow at the Forum for Growth and Innovation at Harvard Business School--which applies the lessons of disruptive innovation to the media industry.

Read about Skok's experience in Finding a Way Forward.