As the recipient of the 2018-2019 Atkinson Fellowship in Public Policy, Shree Paradkar, reporter with the Toronto Star, will investigate the failure of Canada's education system to deliver equitable outcomes for racialized and Indigenous students. View her acceptance speech.

2019-2020 Atkinson Fellowship in Public Policy

The Atkinson Foundation, the Honderich Family and Toronto Star provide a seasoned Canadian journalist with $100,000 and a year to investigate a critical public policy issue. Atkinson Fellows write a series of articles for publication in the Star at the conclusion of their fellowship.

The 2019 – 2020 Atkinson Fellowship in Public Policy application process is now open. The deadline for letters of intent is Monday, February 11, 2019, at 5:00 pm (EST). All submissions are accepted online.

Please upload your three-page letter of intent and curriculum vitae as a single PDF to our confidential online portal. If you have not registered before, please do so before the end of day, Monday, February 4, 2019.

Your letter of intent should:
- Summarize your story and its importance to Canadian society
- Demonstrate considerable familiarity with your chosen topic
- Articulate the specific policy questions you want to pursue

The Selection Committee is open to research ideas on a wide range of topics. Preference will be given to issues that are at the forefront of public policy debate. The Atkinson will not be awarded to projects in history, anthropology, literature or folklore.

You are encouraged to reflect on the Foundation’s mission: to promote social and economic justice. The Selection Committee uses it as the bases for its deliberations.

Letters of intent will be reviewed and decisions will be communicated by the end of February 2019. If your letter is shortlisted, you’ll receive an invitation to submit a more detailed proposal for mid-March 2019. An honourarium will be provided to finalists.

The winner is announced in early June 2019 at the annual Canadian Journalism Foundation Awards.

If you have questions about this exceptional opportunity or the selection process, please contact Jenn Miller, Director of Social Investment at the Atkinson Foundation:



2018 Shree Paradkar

2017 Tanya Talaga

All Our Relations: Finding the Path Forward
2016 Catherine Wallace
2015 Michelle Shephard
2014 Gillian Steward
2013 Peter Goodspeed
2012 Michael Valpy
2011 Neil Sandell
2010 Ann Dowsett Johnston
For the full list of past recipients, visit the Atkinson Fellowship in Public Policy fellows page.